Thursday, June 13, 2024

27 ministers take oath in Madhya Pradesh as Mohan Yadav expands his cupboard, 11 from OBC class

The brand new Madhya Pradesh cupboard.


Former Union Minister Prahlad Patel and BJP Nationwide Basic Secretary Kailash Vijayvargiya had been amongst 28 MLAs sworn into the Madhya Pradesh cupboard Monday afternoon, 18 of whom will maintain cupboard berths, information company PTI mentioned. The opposite 10 will probably be junior ministers, or Ministers of State.

There are solely 5 ladies in new cupboard, after the BJP claimed a win largely on a ladies’s empowerment platform and ex-Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan‘s ‘Ladli Behna Yojana‘ scheme.

As many as 12 members of the brand new cupboard are from OBC, or Different Backward Lessons, class, together with the brand new Chief Minister, underlying the BJP’s ongoing efforts to stability caste/class arithmetic forward of subsequent 12 months’s election.

NDTV Explains | BJP’s 2024 Gameplan Behind Hat-Trick Of Heartland Surprises

The BJP was broadly seen as doing simply that in naming Mohan Yadav the Chief Minister.

Governor Mangubha C Patel administered the oath as he needed to Mr Yadav and his two deputies, Jagdish Devda and Rajendra Shukla, Scheduled Caste and Brahmin faces within the new cupboard.

READ | Mohan Yadav Takes Oath As Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister, PM On Stage

Amongst these sworn in at this time had been Nirmala Bhuria, Narayan Kushwaha, and Nagar Singh Chouhan. Ms Bhuria was earlier the junior Well being Minister and Mr Kushwaha the junior House Minister.

Tribal chief Sampatiya Uikey was sworn in, as had been Vijay Shah, Karan Singh Verma, Rakesh Singh, Vishvas Sarang, Rakesh Shukla, Chaitanya Kashyap, Inder Singh Parmar, and Uday Pratap Singh.

Additionally added had been Pradhuman Singh Tomar, who was earlier the Vitality Minister; Tulsi Ram Silawat, the ex-junior Water Sources Minister; Govind Singh Rajput, the previous Income and Transport; and Aidal Singh Kansana. All 4 had been among the many 22 who supported ex-Congress chief Jyotiraditya Scindia when he give up the Congress in 2020, triggering the autumn of Kamal Nath’s authorities.

All these named above will maintain cupboard berths..

Junior ministers (however with unbiased cost) are Krishna Gaur, Dharmendra Bhav Lodhi, Dilip Jaiswal, Gautam Tetwal, Lakhan Patel and Narayan Singh Pawar. And MLAs who took oath as Ministers of State are Narendra Shivaji Patel, Pratima Bagri, Dilip Ahirwar, and Radha Singh.

These named signify a mixture of the outdated and new, because the BJP additionally tries to stability the aspirations of its newer faces (notably those that crossed over from the Congress three years in the past) and the expectations of its extra veteran state leaders, together with those that served with Mr Chouhan.

12 from the sooner cupboard had contested and misplaced the election. Of those that contested and received, solely six have been given ministerial berths this time round. Amongst these not included had been Bhupendra Singh, who’s near former Shivraj Chouhan, and Gopal Bhargava, a nine-time MLA.

The utmost energy of the Council of Ministers is 35, together with the Chief Minister.

NDTV Unique | What Chief Minister Mohan Yadav Stated On Madhya Pradesh Cupboard

The additions to the cupboard – the primary concrete steps in direction of establishing a state authorities to comply with the Shivraj Singh Chouhan administration since election outcomes had been introduced 22 days in the past – got here after Mr Yadav instructed NDTV “there is no such thing as a hurry… it (the brand new cupboard) will probably be shaped quickly”.

Madhya Pradesh’s new ministers had been chosen after intensive talks on the higher echelons of the BJP’s central management, together with celebration boss JP Nadda.

The BJP claimed a landslide win in final month’s election – profitable 163 of the Hindi heartland state’s 230 seats – shrugging off most exit polls’ prediction of a decent race with the Congress, which claimed simply 66 seats in comparison with the 114 it received 5 years in the past. The saffron celebration additionally routed its rival in two different states that voted then – Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh, each of which the Congress had dominated.

NDTV is now obtainable on WhatsApp channels. Click on on the hyperlink to get all the most recent updates from NDTV in your chat.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles